customer-confirmed deployment

National Grid Sandy Pond Spot inspection

National Grid’s dated technology account confirms Spot use at its Sandy Pond converter station, while describing UK converter-site work separately as trials.

Source contextPrimary specCustomer confirmedReviewed
Sources 2
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Spot product documentation

Boston Dynamics · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Reviewed recordLast reviewed 2 sources ↗10 sourced fields

Site-level distinction

The source states Spot is in use at Sandy Pond. It calls the UK converter-site work trials, so the two maturity levels are kept separate.

Source contextCustomer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Inspection purpose

The customer describes access to areas while equipment remains operational. This records intended workflow benefit without estimating avoided downtime.

Source contextCustomer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Historical boundary

National Grid warns that the explainer may not reflect current activities. The record establishes the published use, not uninterrupted operation through today.

Source contextCustomer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Who, where & when

Manufacturer / vendor
Boston Dynamics
Primary specReviewed
Sources 1
Spot product documentation

Boston Dynamics · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Customer
National Grid
Customer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Site
Sandy Pond high-voltage electricity converter station
Customer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Country
United States
Customer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Exact version / scope
Site-specific Spot hardware and payload revisions not identified
Customer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Activity evidence date
2023-08-14
Customer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Reported start
Not publicly disclosed
Deployment maturity
Recurring operation
Customer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Operational evidence

Task scope
Equipment inspection and fault detection at a converter station
Customer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Fleet size
Not publicly disclosed
Not publicly disclosedReviewed
Sources 1
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Throughput
Not publicly disclosed
Runtime
Not publicly disclosed
Intervention / autonomy evidence
Not publicly disclosed
Commercial relationship
Not publicly disclosed

Additional disclosed fields

Sensing
Article describes visual, thermal, acoustic and lidar inspection capabilities
Customer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

What this evidence does not establish

  • Current site continuation and exact payload require a new customer update.
  • No fault-detection accuracy or financial saving asserted.

Relationships & deployments

Related reading is an editorial crosslink. Sourced connections describe relationships reported in the cited material. A link to a versioned profile does not establish compatibility with that version unless the connection note explicitly identifies it.

deployed at
Spot → National Grid Sandy Pond Spot inspection
Sources 1
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Dated deployment relation. Deployed revision: Site-specific Spot hardware and payload revisions not identified. Activity evidence: 2023-08-14.

Connection reviewed 2026-09-28 · Customer-confirmed historical scope; exact hardware/software revision and current continuation are bounded by this deployment record.

deployed at
Boston Dynamics → National Grid Sandy Pond Spot inspection
Sources 1
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Dated deployment relation. Deployed revision: Site-specific Spot hardware and payload revisions not identified. Activity evidence: 2023-08-14.

Connection reviewed 2026-09-28 · Customer-confirmed historical scope; exact hardware/software revision and current continuation are bounded by this deployment record.

serves
National Grid Sandy Pond Spot inspection → Industrial Inspection
Sources 1
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Connection reviewed 2026-09-28

Record history & verified changes

A research review records when we checked a source. It does not mark a product launch or a new deployment.

Research review / additionInitial deployment review; named customer evidence and bounded maturity captured.

customer-confirmed dated account

Sources 2
National Grid electricity-network technology status

National Grid · Published 2023-08-14 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Publisher explicitly says the article may not reflect current activities; preserve historical scope.

Spot product documentation

Boston Dynamics · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Inspect the evidence

Sources & evidence