humanoid development

Optimus Gen 3

A Tesla humanoid revision named in its investor roadmap; current finished-product specifications and public orderability remain unverified.

Source contextPrimary releaseCompany claimReviewed
Sources 1
Tesla Q4 and FY 2025 update: Optimus Gen 3 roadmap

Tesla · Published 2026-01-28 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Page 8 establishes Gen 3 roadmap identity, not a shipping specification. Q2 2026 deck linked by Tesla IR could not be extracted by web tool because of file-size limit.

Research in progressLast reviewed 1 sources ↗6 sourced fields
Research record · excluded from search indexing. Editorial state: draft.
Identity boundary. Identity confirmed only as an announced revision in a dated roadmap. Current release/specification gate is not satisfied.

What is verified

Tesla explicitly names Optimus Gen 3 in its shareholder update. The document describes design and manufacturing intentions, not a complete delivered-product specification.

Source contextPrimary releaseCompany claimReviewed
Sources 1
Tesla Q4 and FY 2025 update: Optimus Gen 3 roadmap

Tesla · Published 2026-01-28 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Page 8 establishes Gen 3 roadmap identity, not a shipping specification. Q2 2026 deck linked by Tesla IR could not be extracted by web tool because of file-size limit.

Why this is held

The reviewed primary material does not establish a current orderable configuration with enough substantive specifications. This candidate remains draft and noindex.

Source contextPrimary releaseCompany claimReviewed
Sources 1
Tesla Q4 and FY 2025 update: Optimus Gen 3 roadmap

Tesla · Published 2026-01-28 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Page 8 establishes Gen 3 roadmap identity, not a shipping specification. Q2 2026 deck linked by Tesla IR could not be extracted by web tool because of file-size limit.

No inherited specifications

Payload, height, runtime, pricing and deployment counts from other Optimus revisions are not transferred here. Release-date plans are not proof that production began.

Source contextPrimary releaseCompany claimReviewed
Sources 1
Tesla Q4 and FY 2025 update: Optimus Gen 3 roadmap

Tesla · Published 2026-01-28 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Page 8 establishes Gen 3 roadmap identity, not a shipping specification. Q2 2026 deck linked by Tesla IR could not be extracted by web tool because of file-size limit.

Identity & availability

Manufacturer / vendor
Tesla
Primary releaseReviewed
Sources 1
Tesla Q4 and FY 2025 update: Optimus Gen 3 roadmap

Tesla · Published 2026-01-28 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Page 8 establishes Gen 3 roadmap identity, not a shipping specification. Q2 2026 deck linked by Tesla IR could not be extracted by web tool because of file-size limit.

Exact version / scope
Optimus Gen 3 as named in January 2026 roadmap
Primary releaseReviewed
Sources 1
Tesla Q4 and FY 2025 update: Optimus Gen 3 roadmap

Tesla · Published 2026-01-28 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Page 8 establishes Gen 3 roadmap identity, not a shipping specification. Q2 2026 deck linked by Tesla IR could not be extracted by web tool because of file-size limit.

Form factor
Not publicly disclosed
Product status
Roadmap identity verified; current product release gate pending
Company claimReviewed
Sources 1
Tesla Q4 and FY 2025 update: Optimus Gen 3 roadmap

Tesla · Published 2026-01-28 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Page 8 establishes Gen 3 roadmap identity, not a shipping specification. Q2 2026 deck linked by Tesla IR could not be extracted by web tool because of file-size limit.

Commercial availability
Not publicly disclosed
Not publicly disclosedReviewed
Sources 1
Tesla Q4 and FY 2025 update: Optimus Gen 3 roadmap

Tesla · Published 2026-01-28 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Page 8 establishes Gen 3 roadmap identity, not a shipping specification. Q2 2026 deck linked by Tesla IR could not be extracted by web tool because of file-size limit.

Physical specifications

Height
Not publicly disclosed
Weight
Not publicly disclosed
Payload
Not publicly disclosed
Speed
Not publicly disclosed
Runtime
Not publicly disclosed
Mobility
Not publicly disclosed

Sensing & intelligence

Sensing
Not publicly disclosed
Compute
Not publicly disclosed
Model / autonomy stack
Not publicly disclosed

Buyer requirements

Task scope
Not publicly disclosed
Pricing / access
Not publicly disclosed
Access model
Not publicly disclosed
Integrations
Not publicly disclosed
Safety / certification evidence
Not publicly disclosed

Additional disclosed fields

Hand design
Roadmap describes an updated hand design relative to version 2.5
Company claimReviewed
Sources 1
Tesla Q4 and FY 2025 update: Optimus Gen 3 roadmap

Tesla · Published 2026-01-28 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Page 8 establishes Gen 3 roadmap identity, not a shipping specification. Q2 2026 deck linked by Tesla IR could not be extracted by web tool because of file-size limit.

Manufacturing intent
Tesla described Gen 3 as its first design intended for mass production
Company claimReviewed
Sources 1
Tesla Q4 and FY 2025 update: Optimus Gen 3 roadmap

Tesla · Published 2026-01-28 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Page 8 establishes Gen 3 roadmap identity, not a shipping specification. Q2 2026 deck linked by Tesla IR could not be extracted by web tool because of file-size limit.

What this evidence does not establish

  • Current specification and availability evidence incomplete.
  • Latest linked investor deck requires follow-up extraction.

Relationships & deployments

Related reading is an editorial crosslink. Sourced connections describe relationships reported in the cited material. A link to a versioned profile does not establish compatibility with that version unless the connection note explicitly identifies it.

Record history & verified changes

A research review records when we checked a source. It does not mark a product launch or a new deployment.

Research review / additionInitial primary-source product review; specification, availability and evidence limitations recorded.

draft

Sources 1
Tesla Q4 and FY 2025 update: Optimus Gen 3 roadmap

Tesla · Published 2026-01-28 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Page 8 establishes Gen 3 roadmap identity, not a shipping specification. Q2 2026 deck linked by Tesla IR could not be extracted by web tool because of file-size limit.

Inspect the evidence

Sources & evidence

pr-optimus-q4
Tesla Q4 and FY 2025 update: Optimus Gen 3 roadmap

Tesla · Official release · Published 2026-01-28 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Factual summary and attribution only; no upstream prose or dataset redistributed.

Page 8 establishes Gen 3 roadmap identity, not a shipping specification. Q2 2026 deck linked by Tesla IR could not be extracted by web tool because of file-size limit.