Surgical robotics

Intuitive Surgical

Intuitive develops da Vinci surgical systems, Ion robotic bronchoscopy and digital training and workflow tools. The company explicitly describes da Vinci as a surgeon-used tool, keeping assisted procedures distinct from autonomous surgery.

Source contextPrimary specReviewed
Sources 1
Intuitive Surgical — official portfolio and company information

Intuitive Surgical · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Official page read during live research; confirms identity and listed offering. Performance language remains a company claim.

Reviewed recordLast reviewed 2 sources ↗7 sourced fields

Portfolio distinction

The da Vinci surgical family and Ion bronchoscopy platform serve different procedures. Their evidence and product indications cannot be combined into one capability claim.

Source contextPrimary specReviewed
Sources 1
Intuitive Surgical — official portfolio and company information

Intuitive Surgical · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Official page read during live research; confirms identity and listed offering. Performance language remains a company claim.

Human control

The manufacturer states that da Vinci extends surgeon capabilities and does not itself treat cancer. The robotics label should not imply autonomous clinical decision-making.

Source contextPrimary specReviewed
Sources 1
Intuitive Surgical — official portfolio and company information

Intuitive Surgical · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Official page read during live research; confirms identity and listed offering. Performance language remains a company claim.

Evidence interpretation

Individual outcomes depend on patient and clinician factors. Product manuals and applicable labeling are the correct reference for intended use and limitations.

Source contextPrimary specReviewed
Sources 1
Intuitive Surgical — official portfolio and company information

Intuitive Surgical · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Official page read during live research; confirms identity and listed offering. Performance language remains a company claim.

Identity & commercial status

Organization
Intuitive Surgical
Primary specReviewed
Sources 1
Intuitive Surgical — official portfolio and company information

Intuitive Surgical · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Official page read during live research; confirms identity and listed offering. Performance language remains a company claim.

Headquarters
Not publicly disclosed
Founded
Not publicly disclosed
Company status
Not publicly disclosed
Category
Surgical robotics
Primary specReviewed
Sources 1
Intuitive Surgical — official portfolio and company information

Intuitive Surgical · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Official page read during live research; confirms identity and listed offering. Performance language remains a company claim.

Product status
Not publicly disclosed
Commercial availability
Approval and commercial availability vary by region
Primary specReviewed
Sources 1
Intuitive Surgical — official portfolio and company information

Intuitive Surgical · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Official page read during live research; confirms identity and listed offering. Performance language remains a company claim.

Funding & valuation

Funding events
Not publicly disclosed
Valuation
Not publicly disclosed

Partnerships & access

Partnerships
Not publicly disclosed
Access model
Product manuals, training and company contact
Primary specReviewed
Sources 1
Intuitive Surgical — official portfolio and company information

Intuitive Surgical · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Official page read during live research; confirms identity and listed offering. Performance language remains a company claim.

Additional disclosed fields

System families
da Vinci; Ion
Primary specReviewed
Sources 1
Intuitive Surgical — official portfolio and company information

Intuitive Surgical · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Official page read during live research; confirms identity and listed offering. Performance language remains a company claim.

Digital tools
My Intuitive; SimNow; visual models
Primary specReviewed
Sources 1
Intuitive Surgical — official portfolio and company information

Intuitive Surgical · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Official page read during live research; confirms identity and listed offering. Performance language remains a company claim.

Role boundary
Surgical tool used by a surgeon
Primary specReviewed
Sources 1
Intuitive Surgical — official portfolio and company information

Intuitive Surgical · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Official page read during live research; confirms identity and listed offering. Performance language remains a company claim.

What this evidence does not establish

  • No treatment recommendation or claim of superior patient outcome is made.
  • A newer platform does not automatically inherit every earlier indication.

Relationships & deployments

Related reading is an editorial crosslink. Sourced connections describe relationships reported in the cited material. A link to a versioned profile does not establish compatibility with that version unless the connection note explicitly identifies it.

builds
Intuitive Surgical → da Vinci 5
Sources 1
Intuitive Surgical — official portfolio and company information

Intuitive Surgical · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Official page read during live research; confirms identity and listed offering. Performance language remains a company claim.

Connection reviewed 2026-09-28

serves
Intuitive Surgical → Surgical Robotics
Sources 1
Intuitive Surgical — official portfolio and company information

Intuitive Surgical · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Official page read during live research; confirms identity and listed offering. Performance language remains a company claim.

Connection reviewed 2026-09-28 · Stated target application; does not establish a paid deployment.

serves
Intuitive Surgical → Healthcare
Sources 1
Intuitive Surgical — official portfolio and company information

Intuitive Surgical · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Official page read during live research; confirms identity and listed offering. Performance language remains a company claim.

Connection reviewed 2026-09-28 · Stated target application; does not establish a paid deployment.

builds
Intuitive Surgical → da Vinci 5
Sources 1
da Vinci 5 surgical system

Intuitive Surgical · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Connection reviewed 2026-09-28

Record history & verified changes

A research review records when we checked a source. It does not mark a product launch or a new deployment.

Initial reviewed record. No subsequent field change has been recorded.

Inspect the evidence

Sources & evidence