Research guide / Deployment evidence

How to Evaluate Robot Deployment Evidence

A deployment claim needs a source, a defined workflow and a date. This guide shows how to distinguish evidence of an agreement, installation, operating task and measured outcome without treating them as interchangeable.

Source contextCustomer confirmedReviewed
Sources 5
GXO multi-year agreement with Agility Robotics

GXO · Published 2024-06-27 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Customer describes commercial live-warehouse operation after a pilot. Does not identify current Digit 5 hardware.

Co-op and Starship expand delivery across Leeds

Co-op · Published 2023-07-20 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Sam’s Club inventory analytics rollout on existing robotic scrubbers

Sam’s Club / Walmart · Published 2022-01-27 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Digit 5 product and development disclaimer

Agility Robotics · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

DHL Stretch commercial deployment and expansion MOU

DHL Group · Published 2025-05-13 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Reviewed recordLast reviewed 5 sources ↗3 sourced fields
Identity boundary. Original PhysicalAI.best editorial guide. Source links support factual examples; evaluation questions and decision rules are editorial guidance, not upstream endorsements.

Identify who can know the fact

A manufacturer is a primary source for its own published specifications and statements. A customer can confirm a particular purchase or operation. A paper can document an experiment. These source roles support different claims, and none automatically establishes all the others. Record who issued the statement and what they directly describe; preserve company attribution when independent or customer-side confirmation is absent.

Source contextCustomer confirmedReviewed
Sources 2
GXO multi-year agreement with Agility Robotics

GXO · Published 2024-06-27 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Customer describes commercial live-warehouse operation after a pilot. Does not identify current Digit 5 hardware.

Digit 5 product and development disclaimer

Agility Robotics · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Split the claim into observable parts

Extract customer, site, robot revision, task, date, commercial arrangement and operating status separately. GXO supplies a named customer workflow, but that does not disclose every operating metric. An announcement can verify the relationship while leaving fleet size or intervention frequency unknown. Avoid one evidence label that makes the entire paragraph look equally established when its individual facts have different support.

Source contextCustomer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
GXO multi-year agreement with Agility Robotics

GXO · Published 2024-06-27 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Customer describes commercial live-warehouse operation after a pilot. Does not identify current Digit 5 hardware.

Draw the human and system boundary

Identify who loads objects, initiates the task, supervises motion, handles exceptions and completes the final handoff. Co-op’s grocery-delivery source describes store staff and customer interaction alongside robot transport. That makes the workflow more interpretable; it does not weaken it. A deployment can be commercially useful while automating only a bounded stage, so describe that stage accurately.

Source contextCustomer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
Co-op and Starship expand delivery across Leeds

Co-op · Published 2023-07-20 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Audit every count and rate

Keep installed units, ordered units, optional units, manufacturing capacity and planned expansion in separate fields. For throughput or reliability, request the time window, workload, denominator, downtime and interventions. DHL’s expansion account and Sam’s Club’s accessory rollout show why counting announcements can misstate operational scale. If a source omits the measurement conditions, retain its attribution and explain the limit.

Source contextCustomer confirmedReviewed
Sources 2
DHL Stretch commercial deployment and expansion MOU

DHL Group · Published 2025-05-13 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Sam’s Club inventory analytics rollout on existing robotic scrubbers

Sam’s Club / Walmart · Published 2022-01-27 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Preserve time, disagreement and uncertainty

A review date means a source was checked; it does not move an old deployment into the present. Store the original event date and seek a later operating update before claiming current coverage. If sources disagree, display the conflicting fields and investigate version, date and definition differences. When no reliable answer exists, use Not publicly disclosed and put the missing evidence into the update queue.

Source contextCustomer confirmedReviewed
Sources 2
Co-op and Starship expand delivery across Leeds

Co-op · Published 2023-07-20 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Sam’s Club inventory analytics rollout on existing robotic scrubbers

Sam’s Club / Walmart · Published 2022-01-27 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Additional disclosed fields

Customer-source example
GXO identifies its SPANX facility and tote-transfer workflow
Customer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
GXO multi-year agreement with Agility Robotics

GXO · Published 2024-06-27 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Customer describes commercial live-warehouse operation after a pilot. Does not identify current Digit 5 hardware.

Workflow-scope example
Co-op describes staff picking and robot delivery as separate steps
Customer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
Co-op and Starship expand delivery across Leeds

Co-op · Published 2023-07-20 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Quantity-scope example
Existing scrubbers and planned scanning attachments are distinct in Sam’s Club’s announcement
Customer confirmedReviewed
Sources 1
Sam’s Club inventory analytics rollout on existing robotic scrubbers

Sam’s Club / Walmart · Published 2022-01-27 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

What this evidence does not establish

  • A customer-origin statement is not automatically an independently audited performance study.
  • Historic operation does not establish present availability or a later hardware/software revision.

Relationships & deployments

Related reading is an editorial crosslink. Sourced connections describe relationships reported in the cited material. A link to a versioned profile does not establish compatibility with that version unless the connection note explicitly identifies it.

Record history & verified changes

A research review records when we checked a source. It does not mark a product launch or a new deployment.

Initial reviewed record. No subsequent field change has been recorded.

Inspect the evidence

Sources & evidence

pr-dep-gxo-digit
GXO multi-year agreement with Agility Robotics

GXO · Customer · Published 2024-06-27 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Factual summary and attribution only; no upstream prose or dataset redistributed.

Customer describes commercial live-warehouse operation after a pilot. Does not identify current Digit 5 hardware.

pr-dep-sams-brainos
Sam’s Club inventory analytics rollout on existing robotic scrubbers

Sam’s Club / Walmart · Customer · Published 2022-01-27 · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Factual summary and attribution only; no upstream prose or dataset redistributed.

pr-digit5
Digit 5 product and development disclaimer

Agility Robotics · Official spec · Publication date not disclosed · Source accessed 2026-09-28

Factual summary and attribution only; no upstream prose or dataset redistributed.